Vancouver Canucks announce dates for annual Young Stars tournament

The drama of the Stanley Cup will begin this weekend, when the Edmonton Oilers and Florida Panthers begin their battle for the best trophy in sports.

Three months from now, the Oilers will be sending their top prospects to the Okanagan, as the Vancouver Canucks announced Thursday, when they’ll be hosting their annual Young Stars tournament in Penticton.

The four-day event will run Sept. 13-16 at the South Okanagan Events Centre.

Like prior years, the Canucks, Oilers, Calgary Flames and Winnipeg Jets will each bring their top prospects to the rookie tournament.

Click to play video: 'Fans enjoying the 2022 Young Stars Classic in Penticton, B.C.'

Fans enjoying the 2022 Young Stars Classic in Penticton, B.C.

“We are excited to be heading back to Penticton this fall to participate in this great event,” said Canucks GM Patrik Allvin.

Story continues below advertisement

“This will be an opportunity for some of our top prospects to work with Manny Malhotra in a very competitive environment. We look forward to seeing Jonathan Lekkerimäki, Elias Pettersson, Ty Mueller and Ty Young compete in this tournament.”

The email you need for the day’s top news stories from Canada and around the world.

If you’re thinking Canucks captain Elias Pettersson will be at this year’s event, that won’t be the case.

Rather, it’s a 20-year-old defenceman, also from Sweden, with the exact same spelling.

The younger Pettersson, who is listed at 6-2 and 194 pounds, was selected in the third round, 80th overall in the 2022 NHL draft.

He also played for Sweden twice at the World Junior Championship.

Click to play video: 'Edmonton Oilers Stanley Cup final tickets sell out fast'

Edmonton Oilers Stanley Cup final tickets sell out fast

Name confusion aside, this will be the 11th year Penticton will host the tournament, which features six round-robin games.

Story continues below advertisement

According to the Canucks, a handful of players who participated in last year’s event went on to make the NHL, including Vancouver’s Arshdeep Bains and Cole McWard, Calgary’s Matt Coronato, Adam Klapka and Yan Kuznetsov plus Winnipeg’s Nikita Chibrikov and Brad Lambert.

Information about tickets and game times will be announced at a later date.

More on Sports

&copy 2024 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.